Forms of social stratification

In rural Ethiopian society, this form of stratification has existed for centuries and it still
continues. Individuals in such traditional crafts such as pottery, blacksmith, tannery, weaving, carpentry, and others, such as the so-called slaves received the lower and often denied free membership and community participation in various social affairs. Wolayta including, for example, species such people are called by different names like chinasha (potters), degella (tanners), wogachia (forging), shimagnia (weavers) and aylia (slaves). These groups of people are allowed to create marital and other important social relationships Gokka (ie decent speed). Similar type of layering can also be found among the Sidama, Kambata, Guraghe the southern regions of Ethiopia, and elsewhere in other regions across the country.It is believed that such conditions have contributed to the slow socioeconomic development of the country.
 Another popular form of social stratification is the caste system. The system is based on religion and other deep rooted traditional beliefs that can not be changed or is difficult to change. This form of social stratification according to which people in different layers, based on generally strong religious and other agreements / traditions are hard to change. Some of the caste system features include:
• It is a very rigid and closed system.
• People who practice endogamy same stratum.
• Mixed marriages between strata is not allowed.
• There are occupational differences between the layers; ie, each layer is usually assigned to a particular type of action.
• sharing food, social drinking, friendships, etc., Are only allowed within a stratum, not between layers.
Caste is an inherited endogamous social group in which the rank of a person and the corresponding rights and obligations are considered on the basis of his or her birth in a certain group. This form of social stratification characterizes most traditional, agrarian society. However, the best example of caste Hindu caste system of India. It has been around for 3,000 years and officially abolished in 1947. Hindu caste system divides society into five main layers.
Examples - Brahmans, Kshyatryas, Vaishyas and Sudra caste.
Social class
Social classes are groups of people who are stratified into different categories. More generally, social class can be defined as a category or level of those in the same position in the social hierarchy. The criteria or basis for dividing people in a given society in different social classes may include wealth, profession, education, gender, family background, religion, income, among others. The society in the modern world is generally divided into three; lower class, middle class and upper class. Each of the three classes are usually divided into sub-classes. Social class is often characterized as an open and flexible system. So we have the society that can be characterized as an open system, unlike the company closed system. This type of class is common in industrialized, modern, diverse and educated society. Such a system generally works in most modern societies of the world .
Class-Stratification based on class is dominant in modern society. In this respect, a person's position is largely dependent on success and his ability to use to take advantage of the innate qualities and wealth that he has.
Slavery has an economic basis. In slavery, each slave has his master to which he belongs. The power of the slave master is unlimited. Slavery is an institution for the elderly. It succeeded in its intense form in ancient Greece and Rome and in the southern states of the USA. in the eighteenth century and continued until the third quarter of the nineteenth century. In the adapted form, slavery exists in almost every part of the world. The characteristics of slavery in its extreme form are as follows. First, the slave belongs to his master to whom he is in all respects.
The European property system of mediation offers a different merger system that puts more emphasis on birth, but also on wealth and ownership. Every home has a state.
The people of a feudal society are divided into three groups:
(i) The first estate consisting of predecessors,
(ii) The second property consisting of aristocracy, and
(iii) Third property consisting of ordinary people.
The feudal estates of Mediaeval Europe have three important characteristics. In the first place, countries are legally determined - every property with a status in the definition of complex rights and duties, privileges and obligations. Second, the estates represent a broad division of labor. The nobles are ordained to defend everything, the pastor to pray for everyone, and the people to give food to everyone. 'Third, the feudal countries are political groups. It should be noted that classical feudalism consists only of two estates, the clergy and the nobility. These two groups have political power. The serfs do not constitute property in this sense.